Visit Information

No.1:Mt. Fuji, 5th Station

Straddling Yamanashi and Shizuoka Prefectures, Mt. Fuji is a widely-known symbol of Japan. At 3,773 meters, Mount Fuji is Japan’s tallest mountain. “Station (gome)” is the unit representing one tenth of the length from the trail entrance to the top. The fifth station Mt. Fuji is the fifth point from the base at the height of 2,305 meter. Being the end of the Fuji Subaru Line toll road and the highest point that general cars can reach, the place attracts a large number of tourists. Many climbers come here by car and walk the trail ahead to the top.
There is an observatory near the rotary at the 5th Station. From the observatory you can see below Komitake Shrine, an ancient place for prayer that has been visited by worshippers and disciplinant, and Yamanaka-ko, the largest lake among the five Fuji lakes, for example. A trail called Ochudo near the observatory is a hiking trail forming a circle around the middle of Mt. Fuji. Walk Ochudo about an hour and you will reach Oniwa that is popular for an awesome view. At the end of Ochudo, there is Satomidaira that commands a full view of Kawaguchi-ko, Yamanaka-ko and the Japan Alps.

No.2: Oshino Hakkai Springs

Mt. Fuji World Cultural Heritage Site Asset (registered in June 2013) revered as the "spring of the gods" since long ago, many legends have been told about this site. There are eight springs at Oshino Hakkai Springs. At one time, what we now know as Oshino-mura used to be a lake. Mt. Fuji erupted many times, gradually filling the space between Fujisusono and Mt. Misaka. This abraded and drained the area so that, over long period of time, the lake finally dried up. However, some springs that received water from Mt. Fuji's underground water reservoir remained.
Oshino Hakkai is one of the representatives of those springs. Since the water quality, water volume, safety of the water (for drinking), and visual appeal were highly rated, the Environment Agency (current Ministry of the Environment) included it in its National Top 100 Spring Waters in 1985. It was also nationally recognized as a natural monument. Additionally, Oshino Hakkai Springs and the surrounding area feature a beautiful landscape that includes Mt. Fuji, making it a popular place for photography enthusiasts.

No.3: The Shiraito Falls

The Shiraito Falls is a waterfall in Fujinomiya, Shizuoka Prefecture, near Mount Fuji, Japan. It is part of Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park and has been protected since 1936 as a Japanese Natural Monument. The falls were regarded as sacred under the Fuji cult. Another waterfall, the Otodome Falls is approximately a five-minute walk away.
The Shiraito Falls is listed as one of "Japan’s Top 100 Waterfalls", in a listing published by the Japanese Ministry of the Environment in 1990. It was also selected by the Tokyo Nichi Nichi Shimbun and Osaka Mainichi Shimbun. As one of the 100 Landscapes of Japan in 1927. In 2013 the waterfall was added to the World Heritage List as part of the Fujisan Cultural Site.

No. 4: Fujisan Hongū Sengen Taisha

The Fujisan Hongengen Taishaural Site. ki/World_Heritage_List" \o "World Heritage List" 100 Landscapes of Japan (Shōwaichinomiya of former Suruga Province, and is the head shrine of the 1300 Asama or Sengen shrines in the country. The shrine has an extensive location within downtown Fujinomiya; in addition, the entire top of Mount Fuji from the 8th stage upwards is considered to be part of the shrine grounds.
The foundation of the Fujisan Hongū Sengen Taisha predates the historical period. Per shrine tradition, it was established in reign of Emperor Suinin, with the shrine first built on its current location during the reign of Emperor Keikō. This was a period of intense volcanic activity on Mount Fuji, and the shrine was built in order to appease the kami of the mountain. The shrine is mentioned in accounts of the legendary hero Yamato Takeru as well. The entire mountain was off-limits for religious reasons, except for Shugendō monks noted for the asceticism.

© WSSE 2024 | Kyoto, Japan | Email: